Rethink Question Module 45

1)   Yes I think that stress makes the communication between a physician and a patient more complicated then it should be. We a person goes to a doctor the person usually have a problem. So when such a person is now coming to the doctor the person is afraid of getting bad news about his or her health, what creates stress. Another reason why people could feel stress at a doctor is that they sometimes do not do what the doctor is telling them like taking the right medicine or doing the right exercises. But also the doctors languages, which cannot be understand by a normal person can create stress for a person. All these stress can have bad impact on the health of a person, so are people afraid of asking what they really have, because they are afraid. It would be good to follow some rules, like writing down questions for the doctor or writing down the names of the medication someone is taking that these things do not get forgot in the conversation with the doctor.

 

2)   As a health care provider I would try to take away as much stress as possible from the patient. I would try to create a good relationship to my patient, so that the patient feels like home when he or she is talking to me. Also I would try to use a very easy language everybody can understand. It is important that the patient understands me that he can do what I say. Permanent asking if the patient has any questions would eliminate misconceptions. Certainly I have to adjust my techniques when I work with a different gender, culture, age and background. When I would have a female as a patient I would probably try to get a female assistance, so that the patient feels more open to speak to me. It is also important I have a good knowledge about other cultures so that the work with patients from different cultures gets easier for me. Of course it is hard for a health care provider to take care of all these things but it is necessary to guarantee a good treatment for every patient.

 

Leave a comment